Connect with us


Soludo Wins 16 of 18 LGAs in Anambra Governorship Election

Soludo Wins 16 of 18 LGAs in Anambra Governorship Election



Wema Bank Alat

Soludo Wins 16 of 18 LGAs in Anambra Governorship Election

Soludo Wins 16 of 18 LGAs in Anambra Governorship Election


NewsReport gathered that Charles Soludo of the All Progressives Grand Alliance received more votes than his main competitors in Saturday’s governorship election, winning all 16 of the 18 local government areas results announced so far by the electoral office INEC. So far, the candidates of the APC and the PDP have finished second and third in the state’s 21 local government areas.

Mr. Soludo, 61, has been locked in a close contest with Andy Uba of the All Progressives Congress, Valentine Ozigbo of the Peoples Democratic Party, and Ifeanyi Ubah of the Young Progressives Party. The candidates are seeking to replace Governor Willie Obiano, the only APGA governor in the country this online information learned.


Mr. Obiano supported Mr. Soludo during the primaries and pulled resources that aided his ardent campaign against candidates of the two biggest political parties, APC and PDP.


The 18 LGAs so far announced are Onitsha South, Ndemili South, Anyamelum, Oyi, Dunukofia, Awka South, Aguata, Anaocha, Orumba North, Orumba South, Njikoka, Idemili North, Onitsha North, Ogbaru, Nnewi North, and Anambra East. Voting will, however, be allowed to continue on Sunday across polling units where delays were forced by widespread voting machine malfunctions.


PDP and YPP have won a local government area each.


From announced results, APGA scored 96,916; PDP scored 46,862; and APC scored 39,667.


Announced results:



1. Aguata LGA


APC: 4,773

APGA: 9,136

PDP: 3,798



2. Awka South LGA


APC: 2,595

APGA: 12,891

PDP: 5,489



3. Anambra East LGA


APC: 2,034

APGA: 9,746

PDP: 1,380



4. Onitsha South LGA


APC: 2,050

APGA: 4,281

PDP: 2,253



5. Orumba North LGA


APC: 2,692

APGA: 4,826

PDP: 1,863



6. Orumba South LGA


APC: 2,060

APGA: 4,394

PDP: 1,672



7. Anaocha LGA


APC: 2,085

APGA: 6,911

PDP: 5,108



8. Ekwusigo LGA


APC: 1,237

APGA: 2,570

PDP: 1,857



9. Dunukofia LGA


APC: 1, 991

APGA: 4,124

PDP: 1,680



10. Oyi LGA


APC: 2,830

APGA: 6,133

PDP: 2,484



11. Ayamelum LGA


APC: 2,409

APGA: 3,424

PDP: 2,804



12. Idemili South LGA


APC: 1,039

APGA: 2,312

PDP: 2,016



13. Njikoka LGA


APC: 3,216

APGA: 8,803

PDP: 3,409



14. Nnewi North LGA


APC: 1,278

APGA: 3,369

PDP: 1,511

YPP: 6,485



15. Ogbaru LGA


APC: 1,178

APGA: 3,051

PDP: 3,445



16. Onitsha North LGA


APC: 3,909

APGA: 5,587

PDP: 3,781



17. Idemili North LGA


APC: 2,291

APGA: 5,358

PDP: 2,312



18. Nnewi South LGA


APC: 1,307

APGA: 3,243

PDP: 2,226

YPP: 1,327

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2021 NewsReport. Designed by DasodHub.

Verified by MonsterInsights