Just In: Amaechi withdraws from the presidential race, and others.

Access Bank


President Muhammadu Buhari has given the Senate an executive letter containing a list of six nominees to replace ministers who quit to run for President.

Prior to the APC primary election, Buhari issued a directive requiring all appointees running for President to resign.

News Reports that while several ministers withdrew from the presidential run, others resigned, including Rotimi Amaechi, Godswill Akpabio, and Ogbonnaya Onu.

In the letter sent to the Senate President Ahmed Lawan on Tuesday, Buhari said the nominees would replace the former ministers that resigned from his cabinet.

The letter read: “In accordance with Section 8 Subsection 2 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I hereby forward the under-listed ministerial nominees for your confirmation.”

The nominees are:

Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh – Abia State
Umana Okon Umana – Akwa Ibom State
Egwumakama Joseph Nkama – Ebonyi State
Goodluck Nnana Opiah – Imo State
Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub – Kano State
Ademola Adewole Adegoroye – Ondo State
Odum Odih – Rivers State




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here